top of page
Search

The Impact of a Teacher | Toney McMurray

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

Grade Papers.

Teach Curriculum.

Prepare for Tests.

These are all things people often think of when they think of teachers.

There is so much more to it than that.


Sometimes teachers are the only kind face a kid sees all day. Sometimes, the teacher is the only one they see who cares. The teachers who treat their kids as more than just a letter grade or a number are so valuable. Those teachers, the ones who care so deeply for their kids, can have an impact on that student's life that is like no other.


Those teachers like Toney McMurray.


I knew TMAC most of my life. I had him in class for two years and we went to church together many years before that. TMAC cared for his kids like no other.

I remember in class my senior year there was this one kid. He was always sleeping during class and he was kind of a troublemaker. He didn’t always get his work done and was often turning in things late. Instead of saying there was no hope for him and failing the kid as some would do, TMAC invested in him. He actually showed interest in the kid himself and not just his work. It turns out the kid went to work every day after school and worked until 2 AM. No wonder he was always sleeping and not getting his work done in class. TMAC worked hard to help this kid pass and eventually graduate because he knew that sometimes we just need a little extra help.


TMAC had this bowl of mints in the drawer by his desk. To get a mint was a rare occasion. Usually, TMAC knew when you needed something to brighten up your day, so you got a mint. My junior and senior year were both kind of rough for me. One day, my boyfriend at the time who I had been dating for half a year randomly text-dumped me in the middle of the day. With everything else that was going on, this was the cherry on top. I broke down. I walked into TMACs class with tears in my eyes and immediately put my head down. Of course, when TMAC entered the room he called me back to his desk. He asked no questions. He made no judgments. He just handed me a mint, looked me in the eyes, and said, “You know if you need anything ever, you can always come to me“.

This is something I will never forget.


The impact of a teacher is something that is crucial for so many students. One little thing can change the course of a kid's future.

I am finishing up my freshman year in college in the pursuit of becoming a high school history teacher.


I think back on class with TMAC, and instead of being sad, I choose to think of the great times and the impact a teacher had on me.


Toney McMurray will be missed like no other.


Isaiah 41:10 “ So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand”



1,154 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page